Speedmash and Mashalong

Last week I attended the very enjoyable Mashed Library event, which was pulled together by Owen Stephens (review here).

My own contribution was in part a follow on to the APIs session I attended at CETIS08 – a quick demo of how to use Yahoo Pipes and Google spreadsheets as rapid mashing tools. I had intended to script what I was going to do quite carefully, but an extended dinner at Sagar (which I can heartily recommend:-) put paid to that, and the “script” I did put together just got left by the wayside…

However, I’ve started thinking that a proper demo session, lasting one to two hours, with 2-4 hrs playtime to follow, might be a Good Thing to do… (The timings would make for either a half day or full day session, with breaks etc.)

So just to scribble down a few thoughts and neologisms that cropped up last week, here’s what such an event might involve, drawing on cookery programmes to help guide the format:

Owen’s observation that the flavour of the Mashed Library hackathon was heavily influenced by the “presentations” was well made; and maybe why it’s worth trying to build a programme around pushing a certain small set of tools and APIs, effectively offering “micro-training” in them to start with, and then exploring their potential use in the hands-on sessions, makes sense? It might also mean we could get the tools’n’API providers to offer a bit of sponsorship, e.g. in terms of covering the catering costs?

So, whaddya think? Worth a try in the New Year? If you think it might work, prove your commitment by coming up with a T-shirt design for the event, were it to take place ;-)

PS hmm, all these cookery references remind me of the How Do I Cook? custom search engine. Have you tried searching it yet?

PPS I guess I should also point out the JISC Developer Happiness Days event that is booked for early next year. Have you signed up yet?;-)

Author: Tony Hirst

I'm a Senior Lecturer at The Open University, with an interest in #opendata policy and practice, as well as general web tinkering...

4 thoughts on “Speedmash and Mashalong”

  1. Hi Tony

    Sounds like a great idea – think we (CETIS) could maybe help. Let’s catch up about this.

    Sheila

Comments are closed.